Help Center

Data Persistence (Session Sync)

Synchronize files and settings across sessions and servers

By default, Cameyo accounts are set up to remove user traces from the server(s) after each Play session is disconnected. If data persistence is desired, Session Sync can be enabled to store changes made to the user's profile directory and registry (HKCU) in a Cameyo Google Cloud Storage bucket. Each time the user signs in and starts a session, the user's data is synchronized back to the server.

This method gives data persistence and keeps the server clean when not in use for better security.

Go to Policy page and click (activation required) next to Data persistence to enable.

031 Data persistence on Policy page

Authorization is required through a Google account, which will be used only as a unique secure access key, i.e. no data will be stored on this authorized account.

Once Session Sync is enabled, users will see their profile settings and files as unchanged from one session to the next, from one server to another. Files can be saved and opened within the usual user directories such as Documents, Desktop.

Limitations:

  • Does not support unauthenticated users, i.e. users have to be signed in.
  • If a user from one Cameyo account (Company A) uses an application from another Cameyo account (Company B), his session’s data will be stored on Company A’s cloud storage, for security reasons.
  • Although files are synchronized from the server to the cloud on the fly, registry keys are synchronized only after the user sessions are disconnected. For this reason, setting changes that rely on the registry should be made with only one active session.